OpenBSD – EEEPC

OpenBSD 4.8 has been absolutely brilliant on my EEE1000H. I have tested so many operating systems on my EEE, that I have lost track of just how many. Once, I was able to build a pretty mean, kickass version of LFS on this device, which followed the grimoire model of Sorcerer for package management. But as I had briefly mentioned earlier, migrated to BSD on this machine as well. After cycling through various BSD’s, I have settled down on OpenBSD. In fact, OpenBSD had support for the wireless card on this machine long before many operating systems. I remember using ndisgen to use wireless on FreeBSD then. It was terrible. But no such problems with OpenBSD. I am sure FreeBSD has a driver for the machine now. Besides, nothing beats OpenBSD’s wireless management. It is so damn simple and I doff my hat to all the masturbating monkeys behind it, especially the lead masturbator, Damien Bergamini.

Since this is the machine that I carry with me on travel, a stable no nonsense, secure and functional platform is the prime directive – to take a leaf out of Starfleet’s General Order 1. We all know what OpenBSD’s stance on security and stability is. Hence, it was easy for me to make the choice. Coming to the aesthetic side of things, I alternate between ScrotWM and cwm. cwm is part of Xenocara (OpenBSD’s kickass build infrastructure of X.Org), which is what I use most of the time. ScrotWM takes care of tiling needs.

I will talk about cwm in a separate post later. For the time being, I am posting my EEE screenshot, with cwm in action. As usual, click on the image for full view.

OpenBSD 4.8 on EEE 1000H

I have resurrected my sticker conky from a few posts back. Other things on display are, some ascii art, a piece of code and the audio player interface, vitunes. Like cwm and ScrotWM, vitunes was also originally developed for OpenBSD. It has been ported to FreeBSD and it is easy to build on Linux as well. Basically, it is a frontend for mplayer and the keybindings work like in vi editor. It was developed by logician Ryan Flannery.

I will push my sticker conky to my github account as well. Please give me a couple of days. Wallpaper is the carbon fiber tile-v2 from subtlepatterns. The terminal font is called Dweep, and it is based on Jim Knoble’s Neep font. cwm menu and conky font is Standard 07_57 Caps, which I posted along with my Bridge fluxbox theme earlier. I will release Dweep in a few days.

7 comments on “OpenBSD – EEEPC

  1. How do you get terminal *input* colored? I already use cw to color my output but don’t know about input.
    I really love your simplistic desktops (mine are also very minimal, but don’t normally look so nice).

    Danke schonmal im voraus 🙂

    • You mean the commands? That’s just live command coloring function in zsh. I will move my configs to Github this Wednesday. You can get it from there. I will add a companion post as well. Thanks for your visit.
      Viel Spaß

  2. Hi, I tried commenting before and apparently my comment got flushed…

    Can you (if you still have it) provide a copy of the bash/zshrc as we can see on this screnshot? I’m also wondering how you made cwm look like that. on my side, the borders are not so large (far left window) and the conkyrc isnt exactly giving this layout… Also, I’m not very fluent on manual gtkrc configuation: how did you got that amazing dark tint on everything?

    • No it didn’t. I must approve it before it appears. If you took the conky from my github, then you will get a linear version. The sticker conky hasn’t been pushed to my github, at least not yet. Same story with zshrc. I will move all my configs on Wednesday. So please check my github on Wednesday. The dark tint effect is simple xcompmgr magic. Hope that helps.

Leave a comment