Physics Nobel 2012

Haroche and Wineland – Nobel Physics Prize 2012

Talk about coincidence. To sort of kill my boredom, I was rereading Programming the Universe by Seth Lloyd and I found out that Serge Haroche from College de France and David Wineland from National Institute for Standards and Technology have won this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics. The Nobel citation states the award was for “ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems”.

So, a second Nobel for Quantum Optics in seven years. My congratulations are in order for both Dr. Haroche and Dr. Wineland. The news motivates me even more to finish my write-up on Quantum Entanglement.

Leave a Reply

