RIP Arthur O. Sulzberger

First off, sorry for not having posted updates for a while. I had to channel my complete focus on a mathematical problem that has been bugging me for a while. It has to do with Theoretical Physics of course. I know the answer is within my reach and once I am satisfied with my solution I will talk about it right here. For the moment though, I would like to continue with the Prometheus analysis theme right after this post.

Arthur O. Sulzberger 1926-2012

I am sure anyone who reads The New York Times regularly would know Arthur O. Sulzberger. He breathed his last yesterday at his home on Southampton, New York. I have been reading NYT regularly since the September 11 attacks. Apart from general reporting, I love the Opinion and Editorial section. Oh, how can I forget the Crosswords. The Gray Lady is one of the greatest newspapers on the planet in my opinion. It’s history, what it has done for journalism, and the fact that it is the newspaper of record just goes on to show why it should be read by anyone, regardless of where one belongs in the political spectrum.

The New York Times – September 12th, 2001

This is the main reason why I wanted to talk a bit about Arthur O. Sulzberger. He is credited for having made NYT to what it is today. During his tenure NYT won 31 Pulitzer prizes and expanded from a traditional, family owned paper to a nationally and perhaps, internationally important paper. But what he did to the First Amendment movement in America is something that can never be forgotten. Going against outside counsel he published The Pentagon Papers. Doing so, he stood up against the Nixon administration effectively showing that everyone is accountable, be it a normal citizen or the President of the United States.

American politics fascinates me. I have been following it almost religiously since the 2000 presidential elections. Primary season, conventions and the general elections are a time period of great excitement for me. I am so looking forward to the general elections this year. So, it was natural that I had a great interest to learn more about the political climate in the 60’s and the 70’s. It’s what led me to The Pentagon Papers and appreciate the role played by The New York Times and Washington Post. That’s why I consider Arthur O. Sulzberger one of the  pioneers in journalism and is definitely one of my heroes.

I would like to take this moment and say, Mr. Sulzberger, Rest in Peace. Your contributions will never be forgotten. Have a great journey Sir.

2 comments on “RIP Arthur O. Sulzberger

Leave a Reply

