Dash X11 Font v2.0

It’s time to update one of my fonts, Dash. I will push it to my github tomorrow. But, for the time being, I am uploading it over at omploader. As I had mentioned earlier, the only difference between v2.0 and v1.0 is the letter “l”. It should be evident from my NetBSD screenshot from a few pages earlier and the shot in this post. Just click on the image below to download. As usual, you can push it to /usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/Dir-of-your-choice/, and update your font cache. That’s just about it.

Dash X11 Font - Version 2.0: Direct Download (Thanks Omploader)

Here is another screenshot with dash in action. This is my first Linux shot after a long long time. Was testing some optimizations coupled with few other tests and new grimoires on my Sorcerer box. KDE after a long time as well. Just click on the image for full view.

KDE on Sorcerer OS

If there are any further questions, please feel free to ask by using the Comment feature. I will update my Github with Version 2.0 tomorrow.

19 comments on “Dash X11 Font v2.0

      • Yeah, already donwloaded them but I cannot find them, I put them into /usr/share/fonts. Hm…. I am using Debian. So, maybe I missed something, I even updated the font cache.

        I need the fonts, they are just great! 🙂

      • I am don’t know about Debian. Wouldn’t there be a separate directory for X11 fonts somewhere? /usr/share/fonts/X11 or something similar? If you find a directory like that, I am sure there will be a sub-directory called, misc. Just move the fonts to misc. Run mkfontdir in that directory, followed by mkfontscale and finally update font cache as root. If you want the fontpath updated in runtime, just issue the following commands:

        xset fp+ /usr/share/fonts/X11/misc/ (An example, if you copied the font to that directory)
        xset fp rehash (Both commands as root of course).

        If the commands worked, then everything should be fine. You can see the font in xfontsel. Do let me know if it works out.
        Cheers.

  1. Thanks for your help. Now I did it the easy way. I put them in ~/.fonts but I had to enable bitmap fonts because Debian has that disabled by default.

  2. Dude, could you say me what software you use to modify your fonts. I wanna change a character into your MarathonMod, but when I export “X Server Font” in bdf with bdfedit, the spaces are wrong. And then, the font is fucked.
    Thanks a lot, lad.

    • I have never had to use any software other than the good old xmbdfed. I have had no problems whatsoever with it. The issue that you mention with bdfedit is strange though. Let me see if I could replicate the error.

      • If you can replicate it, say me it please.
        I can give you the bdf file converted with gbdfed from your pcf file. You’ll see the wrong properties. It’s not the first time I got issues with gbdfed. I managed to create fonts from scratch with bdfedit, and then the BBX into are messed up when I edit that font, with gbdfed.
        BTW, thanks for xmbdfed, I didn’t know it. Very useful blog.

      • Sure man, I am traveling a bit right now. Once I get back, I promise to look into it. As I said earlier, I have never worked with gbdfed before. I have always used the pcf2bdf command utility for the conversion. It has worked for me everytime. Same holds for bdftopcf for the conversion other way around. xmbdfed is one of the oldest utilities around. Chances are that many modern distributions don’t package it anymore due to other software like, gbdfed, for instance. Glad that you find the blog useful.

  3. Thanks to you, this weird problem has been fixed with pcf2bdf. I was looking for a similar software.
    Now, I removed gbdfed and I installed xmbdfed, which is much better. I added your blog into my bookmarks.
    Take care.

    • Glad that you sorted it out. As I mentioned earlier, I have never had to look beyong pcf2bdf, bdftopcf and xmbdfed for all my font editing/creating needs. Sure they are old, but they are like wine and works out every time. Thanks for your visit again.

Leave a Reply

