Marathon Mod Showcase Contd.

Thought of adding another screen with Marathonmod in action. Window Manager is Fluxbox. OS is FreeBSD 9.0-Release of course. The fluxbox theme is a mod of Absurd theme. I am using the Xoria256 color palette on my terminal. The font has been released in my previous post and it points to my github from where it can be downloaded.

Marathon Mod in action

This wallpaper is one of my absolute favorites. It’s not from a bio weapons research lab or a deleted scene from The Shining (It is one helluva film!). It’s from Bell Labs, 1966. Everything works in this picture, the “WTF are you lookin at punk?” look, the glasses, the creepy hallway and much more. I will post the wallpaper and some related stuff tonight. The current network I am on is crapping all over the place.

If you are interested in the animation series in the screenshot, it is one of the funniest series ever, Harvey Birdman – Attorney at Law. The references to pop culture, politics and being extremely funny at the same time made this series stand out. Perfect animation with loads of adult humor. The guy you see here is Phil Sebben from Sebben & Sebben (Stephen Colbert was beyond awesome in this series man!).

Note: I would just like to say one thing about the font. It might be too tall or the character variations might be too much for some of you. I had the same feeling about the font when I started out. But it kinda grew on me.  This is particularly obvious with the semi-condensed version shown in the screenshots. The normal version isn’t that extreme. Besides, I had posted earlier that I am just releasing all the fonts that I have created over a period of time, regardless of their aesthetic appeal.

5 comments on “Marathon Mod Showcase Contd.

  1. Man, what could I say? In three days, you added two fonts which can replace terminus. Yeah, It’s kind of a miracle.
    Love Marathonmod, it’s not too condensed and very readable on my screen.

    I really like your style though and now I want to test out *BSD.

    • I just have an alias for mplayer in my .shrc/.zshrc etc., to invoke it to use the msgmodule and msgcolor functionality. For instance, you can define something like this in your .zhsrc and call mplayer by its alias name.

      alias mplay='mplayer -msgmodule -msgcolor'

      This will give you the colors. Else, you can simply compile mplayer by turning on those options.

Leave a Reply

