Solarized

Solarized by Ethan Schoonover

From my screenshots here it would be clear that I like light on dark color schemes. Although I am aware of the solarized palette for quite some time now, I was a bit reluctant to use it. Not anymore. I gave the Solarized-Light version a try, and consider me sold. This one works perfectly with a good ttf font, ideal size and hinting. This is also the first time that I am using a ttf font (Envy Code R in this case, size 8). Another plus in favor of solarized is that there are a lot of editor specific themes already available that makes the computing experience uniform across the spectrum.

So, I just hacked a quick fluxbox companion theme to go with solarized light colors. This theme is a mod of tenr’s foobar theme. I call it foobar-solarized. I also found a perfect wallpaper from wallbase.  Being a fan of comic books and Justice League, this is the perfect wallpaper. I just modified the color a bit and threw the FreeBSD logo on it. You can download both the wallpapers here as well.

Anyway, here is the screenshot. Click on the image for full view.

Solarized Desktop - Fluxbox

Here are the wallpapers.

Justice League Solarized

Justice League Solarized with FreeBSD Logo

You can download the Fluxbox theme from omploader. Note: Direct Download

Foobar-Solarized Fluxbox theme 

6 comments on “Solarized

  1. nice screenshot! I’ve been using solarized on my terminal in my crunchbang install for a couple of days and I love it. I’m using the dark solarized and haven’t try the light version yet, but from your screenshot it looks awesome, I’ll give it a try someday 😛

  2. Great to see you’re using Flux. It doesn’t get much love these days. I would like to ask, however, if you have managed to tame the Slit in Flux, coz it’s the one thing I have never been able to get right 😦 . Also, I don’t think there are any dock-apps available for it, anyway.

    • Thanks again mate. Flux is my favorite *box environment. As far as the slit goes, well, I have never messed with it. So, I don’t know how it could be configured to do the things that you expect. If you want a real panel functionality, you can get rid of the slit altogether and use something like fbpanel? Just a thought, but you being a fluxbox user, you are probably aware of fbpanel already. Thanks for your visit mate.

  3. Fluxbox is great, been using it in the past. Nowadays I use Xfce+compiz+emerald. I like the eye-candy desktop, not too cluttered/bloated and not too minimal. Just the right combination. Your screen looks awesome and the color palette is great. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

