Xorg and Cars

How many times have you heard the cries from users on various forums about their X not working? Do you guys remember, probably a couple of years back, there were so many people complaining that Ctrl+Alt+Backspace didn’t work anymore after an update? Anyway, I just happened upon a funny quote from Fortune that talks about how cars would be like, if X-window designers built them.

If the designers of X-window built cars, there would be no fewer than five
steering wheels hidden about the cockpit, none of which followed the same
principles -- but you'd be able to shift gears with your car stereo. Useful
feature, that.
-- From the programming notebooks of a heretic, 1990

Kind of captures the essence of Xorg, don’t you think? 😀

6 comments on “Xorg and Cars

  1. Damn, why is everyone’s fortune output always cooler than mine?
    Not that I’ve used/modded fortune much, but when I do give it a go, all I get are Shakespearean quotes/sonnets or lame chicken-n-egg jokes 😦

    I’m jotting that down for future pun-use, btw. Thanks for sharing, mate.

    Take care 🙂

    • I can understand that mate. I have my shell configured in a way that every time it starts with a fortune quote. So, chances of finding these gems are higher. I have found other interesting ones as well. I will post some more tonight. Thanks again for your visit mate.

  2. Nice post 🙂 Keep’em coming!
    So, why is Ctrl-Alt-Backspace not working anymore? :))
    .. and, why are you changing your wp theme so often? The previous one was better, but that’s just my opinion!

    Have a nice one mate!

    Andrew

    • Hey, thanks Andrew. I don’t even remember changing the theme recently. Anyway, I am back to the Journalist theme. Hope you are happy. I too like Journalist theme the best.

      Coming to the key combination, I remember reading about it a couple of years back. Apparently, it has to do with the design of new devices with keyboards shrunk and backspace key being in a very dangerous position for anyone to accidentally press the combination. Of course, for new users, it would be frustrating. Since, a workaround was immediately put out to restore it, I am not complaining. But it was quite a hot topic then.

      • I follow your posts via rss, but I remember this detail to stand out. Very often while visiting your blog or reading old posts, I noticed the changes in the WP themes. It’s ok, don’t get me wrong, I just wondered why you changed them ‘so often’ 🙂 Maybe I lost track of time because now, when I think back, I can’t really remember when were the last 2 or 3 times when I loaded your blog in the browser. As I said before, I have it subscribed in my GReader.

        I also follow your posts @dA. My username there is canaris1780. I am an in-betweener when it comes to OSes. At work I’m ‘forced’ to use Windows, company policy. But at home I use Ubuntu and FreeBSD dual boot. I’m in a constant pursuit of a perfect combination of OS, features and graphical interface. In the WM ‘battle’ I struggle between tiled WM’s and non-tiling. It seems I can’t settle for one. I am Gemini by the way. Maybe my ‘dual personality’ has something to do with it! Anyway, I love your screenshots, minimal and genie. I hope you are not offended by the geek remark!

        Looking forward to you posts! Keep them coming!

        Andrew

      • Errata: “I love your screenshots, minimal and genie” should have been “I love your screenshots, minimal and geekie”. Damn auto-spelling!

Leave a Reply

