EEE 1000H FreeBSD7.2

Here is another screenshot of my EEE 1000H. Of course it is powered by FreeBSD 7.2 Stable. Except for wireless, almost all the features that I need work. Hotkeys, and most importantly, the monitor switching works fine.

I have no use for the camera and bluetooth, so it’s something that I am not interested in. I still havent had the time to work on the wireless. Of course one could use ndisgen to build the ralink 2860 driver from the Windows driver, but so far there are some performance issues it seems from what I have read in many FreeBSD forums. But on the BSD front in general, its great that OpenBSD has support for this chip. Also since I am on a wired network in my office, its no big deal.

Anyway here is the current screenshot from my EEE. Colors are a little bit different, and the window manager is as usual EvilWM. Another major difference is, now I have a linear conky, instead of the sticker, with the same info. Thought it went well in transparent mode with this wallpaper. For people who are interested in this totally unobtrusive wallpapaer, just go back a few posts, and you can fin the link for the wallpaper.

By the way I am planning to move all my configs over to github over the weekend, since dotfiles has gone bust, atleast now. Now lets get to the screenshot. Click on the image for full view.

FreeBSD-New-Thumb

6 comments on “EEE 1000H FreeBSD7.2

  1. Hi my friend,

    Yesterday I switched my eeepc box to FreeBSD. I’m using the FreeBSD 8 because there is a .img in the ftp (and not for the 7.2).
    The installation was running fine, my ethernet controller works out of the box but as know not the wireless.
    I’ve tried the ndisgen method, but I’ve got an unknow error (maybe because of the beta).
    I just wanna know if you have made your wireless to work ?

    • hey Rydgel. sorry for the delay buddy. Anyway its strange that you couldn’t locate the stable image. it is not possible. Anyway Current is good too. but it will break quite often and its advisable to keep an eye on the mailing lists to see what kind of bugs one might encounter.

      Now coming the the wireless, I still haven’t had the time to play around with ndisgen to try to get the wlan working. but its a pity that only this model has this raling 2860 chipset. even 1000he has an attansic i think, for which support is available in freebsd. i will try out ndisgen and let you know. but so far from what i have known from the 1000h freebsd users, it doesn’t look promising 😦

Leave a Reply

