My .bashrc

I have been getting requests for my .bashrc for sometime i see. so here it is! I have a lot of things configured which i presume might interest none. So I am gonna post my export features for the different color codes I use in my bash. All u need is to copy the text and paste it in ur .bashrc which shud reside in /home/your-username/ So here is the code:

export BLACK=’\[33[30m\]’
export GREY=’\[33[1;30m\]’
export RED=’\[33[1;31m\]’
export GREEN=’\[33[1;32m\]’
export YELLOW=’\[33[1;33m\]’
export BLUE=’\[33[1;34m\]’
export MAGENTA=’\[33[1;35m\]’
export CYAN=’\[33[1;36m\]’
export WHITE=’\[33[1;37m\]’
export PS1=”$GREEN\u$CYAN on$YELLOW \h$GREY | $WHITE\d $RED\t$GREY | $MAGENTA\w$GREY |\n$GREEN $ $CYAN-> ”
export PS2=”$CYAN ‘>'”
export PS3=”$CYAN ‘>>'”
export PS4=”$CYAN ‘>>>'”

Don’t hesitate to ask me if there are any questions!

Here’s an example as to how it luks! Click on the thumbnail for the picture!

2 comments on “My .bashrc

  1. Thanks for posting it. There were a few problems getting this to work on gnome(wordpress scewed some of the formatting plus i had to tweak it a little for this to work on gnome). I would cp my corrections here but wordpress will skew the formatting again. If anyone else needs the updated .bashrc that works on gnome, just click on my nick(it links to my blog and i have a contact page there, i will email you the corrected bashrc). Thanks again skinwalker.

  2. i suspected that wordpress might screw up something. i was actually planning to link the txt file as such. but neway since u tweaked and got it working its fine. glad that u found my post helpful mate! thanx for ur visit again!

Leave a Reply

